Project

General

Administration Guide Documentation issue (Install Error)

Javier Urtubia
Added about 2 months ago

Hello,
This is my first time using your product. I read your site and after comparing it to several XMPP servers I decided to try yours as it is so open source (We are a big open source shop) I downloaded Tigase XMPP server version 7. 1.2 per your documentation. I built a brand new install CentOS 7 server and also installed Oracle Java JDK 9. You documentation states JDK 8 or greater so I did greater. I defined the JDK 9 as $JAVA_HOME. All that seems to be in good order. I then proceeded to do the Web Installer as it's the first option on your Doc. I downloaded and un tar'd the file per your doc and that was is good, However when I run scripts/tigase.sh start per your doc I get nothing. I see the following.

[admin@jabber tigase-server-7.1.2-b4471]$ scripts/tigase.sh start
No params-file.conf given. Using: ''
Starting Tigase:
nohup: redirecting stderr to stdout
Tigase running pid=25607

Running to next step in your documentation:

[admin@jabber tigase-server-7.1.2-b4471]$ lsof -i -P

I get nothing.

Doing a bit or research on your forums I found an old reference to 5.x version of code that had a similar issue.
the fix was to define

scripts/tigase.sh start etc/tigase.conf

running the command like that I got the:
JAVA_HOME is not set.
Please set it to correct value before starting the sever.

I went ahead and edit the conf file but still got the exact same result.

[admin@jabber tigase-server-7.1.2-b4471]$ scripts/tigase.sh start etc/tigase.conf
Starting Tigase:
nohup: redirecting stderr to stdout
Tigase running pid=26110

SO next I decided to run the console installation further down your document section 9.4

I downloaded the jar file for 7.1.2 and ran the install in console mode. This was better as I can see what's actually happening. I made it through the entire installer right up to the database part:

0 [x] Derby (built-in database)
1 [ ] MySQL