Project

General

Developing with IntelliJ?

Matt Q Public
Added over 1 year ago

I'm new at this. I apologize in advance...

Normally I just add the maven repo to my gradle build file and start coding. No problem.

I have read section 2 of the Development Docs and gotten the server code to load into IntelliJ, but there's always something missing, it throws a ton of errors, and even the documentation doesn't say where to create your classes, etc.

Is anyone else developing for Tigase with IntelliJ, and if so, how are you accomplishing this?

Replies (9)

(1)

Added by Wojciech Kapcia TigaseTeam over 1 year ago

Matt Q Public wrote:

Normally I just add the maven repo to my gradle build file and start coding. No problem.

Could you elaborate? You add it as a dependency? What you add exactly?

I have read section 2 of the Development Docs and gotten the server code to load into IntelliJ, but there's always something missing, it throws a ton of errors, and even the documentation doesn't say where to create your classes, etc.

Sharing what errors are thrown would be helpful :-)

Also - what are you trying to achieve? Build the server? Add functionality? Customise it?

Is anyone else developing for Tigase with IntelliJ, and if so, how are you accomplishing this?

It turned out we mostly use Jetbrains IDEA so yeah - it works (there is also highlighter for new configuration file format).

You simply:

• clone the tigase-server repository

• open the project in idea - it will add all maven modules.

Added by Matt Q Public over 1 year ago

Okay, that's great. I was reading section 2 of the Developer Docs, and it sounded like a much bigger problem than it actually was. I have cloned the tigase-server code into a folder, and opened that as a project. It seems to see everything, and I don't have any errors.

I would like to develop a Component. How do I do that?